{
  "schema": "ges.capacity-insights.v1",
  "version": "2026-10-20.1",
  "verified_on": "2026-10-20",
  "coverage": "National PV estimate plus explicitly scoped public procurement snapshots. BESS national installed totals are unverified. Seven selected project records are not a national census.",
  "sources": {
    "irena": {
      "title": "IRENA Renewable Capacity Statistics 2026, solar PV table, printed p.25 / PDF p.37",
      "url": "https://www.irena.org/-/media/Files/IRENA/Agency/Publication/2026/Mar/IRENA_DAT_RE_capacity_statistics_2026.pdf",
      "published": "2026-03",
      "note": "End-2025 maximum net generating capacity; South Africa PV value marked e (IRENA estimate). \u00a9 IRENA 2026. Excludes CSP."
    },
    "treasury": {
      "title": "National Treasury, 2026 Budget Review, Annexure D, p.142",
      "url": "https://www.treasury.gov.za/documents/National%20Budget/2026/review/Annexure%20D.pdf",
      "published": "2026-02",
      "note": "Programme snapshots at end-December 2025. Programme capacity is not a full national project census."
    },
    "scatec": {
      "title": "Scatec South Africa asset portfolio",
      "url": "https://www.scatec.com/en/project/south-africa/",
      "published": null,
      "note": "Undated owner portfolio, checked 20 October 2026. Retains owner-reported status and units."
    },
    "grootfontein": {
      "title": "Scatec Grootfontein commercial-operation announcement",
      "url": "https://www.scatec.com/en/scatec-starts-commercial-operation-at-grootfontein-solar-power-plant-in-south-africa/",
      "published": "2025-12-06",
      "note": "Owner identifies 273 MW and Western Cape."
    },
    "thakadu": {
      "title": "Scatec / Lyra Thakadu construction announcement",
      "url": "https://www.scatec.com/en/lyra-energy-reaches-financial-close-and-starts-construction-of-255-mw-solar-power-plant/",
      "published": "2026-03-06",
      "note": "255 MW in two phases; only phase-one start confirmed by this dated announcement. Phase-one COD targeted H1 2027."
    },
    "mogobe": {
      "title": "Scatec Mogobe financial-close announcement",
      "url": "https://www.scatec.com/en/scatec-reaches-financial-close-and-prepares-for-construction-start-for-battery-energy-storage-project-in-south-africa/",
      "published": "2024-10-18",
      "note": "103 MW / 412 MWh near Kathu, Northern Cape; current portfolio supplies the construction status."
    },
    "haru": {
      "title": "Scatec Haru preferred-bidder announcement",
      "url": "https://www.scatec.com/en/scatec-wins-battery-storage-project-in-south-africa/",
      "published": "2025-05-30",
      "note": "123 MW / 492 MWh, Free State. Preferred bidder; current portfolio lists backlog. Do not infer commercial close from an elapsed target date."
    },
    "hex": {
      "title": "Eskom Hex commissioning announcement",
      "url": "https://www.eskom.co.za/eskom-unveils-a-first-of-its-kind-largest-battery-storage-project-in-the-african-continent/",
      "published": "2023-11-10",
      "note": "Commissioned Hex asset, Worcester, Western Cape, 100 MWh. Evidence of commissioning does not certify present availability."
    },
    "eskom2025": {
      "title": "Eskom Distribution IPP conference presentation, May 2025",
      "url": "https://www.eskom.co.za/distribution/wp-content/uploads/2025/05/IPP-Conference-Day-1-Presentation-pack.pdf",
      "published": "2025-05",
      "note": "Hex River label identifies 20 MW / 100 MWh."
    },
    "redsands": {
      "title": "Globeleq Red Sands project page",
      "url": "https://globeleq.com/power-plants/red-sands-esipppp-project/",
      "published": null,
      "note": "Owner reports 153 MW / 612 MWh, Northern Cape, present status Construction; checked 20 October 2026."
    },
    "solargis": {
      "title": "Solargis free maps \u2014 Africa",
      "url": "https://solargis.com/resources/free-maps-and-gis-data?locality=africa",
      "published": "2021-04-30",
      "note": "Solar resource map \u00a9 2021 Solargis. CC BY-SA 4.0. Long-term period 1994\u20132020; Middle East 1999\u20132020. Original map images retained with legends and attribution."
    }
  },
  "metrics": [
    {
      "id": "pv-installed",
      "technology": "Solar PV",
      "label": "Installed solar PV",
      "value": 10655,
      "unit": "MW",
      "status": "Installed",
      "scope": "IRENA national estimate; installed and connected at year-end",
      "capacity_basis": "IRENA maximum net generating capacity; e = estimate",
      "source_ids": [
        "irena"
      ],
      "as_of": "2025-12-31",
      "note": "Not a DC module-nameplate total. No rooftop estimate is added separately; CSP excluded.",
      "geography": "South Africa",
      "verified_on": "2026-10-20"
    },
    {
      "id": "pv-construction",
      "technology": "Solar PV",
      "label": "PV under construction \u2014 BW6 only",
      "value": 360,
      "unit": "MW",
      "status": "Under construction",
      "scope": "Two REIPPPP Bid Window 6 projects only",
      "capacity_basis": "Source-reported project MW; AC/DC boundary not specified in cited passage",
      "source_ids": [
        "treasury"
      ],
      "as_of": "2025-12-31",
      "note": "Partial programme scope; not total South African PV under construction.",
      "geography": "South Africa",
      "verified_on": "2026-10-20"
    },
    {
      "id": "pv-planned",
      "technology": "Solar PV",
      "label": "Planned PV \u2014 procured BW7",
      "value": 3940,
      "unit": "MW",
      "status": "Procured / planned",
      "scope": "18 REIPPPP Bid Window 7 bidders",
      "capacity_basis": "Source-reported procurement MW",
      "source_ids": [
        "treasury"
      ],
      "as_of": "2025-12-31",
      "note": "Procured does not mean commissioned, construction-started or financially closed.",
      "geography": "South Africa",
      "verified_on": "2026-10-20"
    },
    {
      "id": "bess-installed-power",
      "technology": "BESS",
      "label": "Installed BESS power \u2014 national",
      "value": null,
      "unit": "MW",
      "status": "Installed",
      "scope": "Whole-country total not verified",
      "capacity_basis": "Power",
      "source_ids": [
        "hex",
        "scatec"
      ],
      "as_of": "Not established",
      "note": "Selected public assets are documented; this release does not assert an exhaustive national total.",
      "geography": "South Africa",
      "verified_on": "2026-10-20"
    },
    {
      "id": "bess-installed-energy",
      "technology": "BESS",
      "label": "Installed BESS energy \u2014 national",
      "value": null,
      "unit": "MWh",
      "status": "Installed",
      "scope": "Whole-country total not verified",
      "capacity_basis": "Energy; usable/gross boundary not harmonised",
      "source_ids": [
        "hex",
        "scatec"
      ],
      "as_of": "Not established",
      "note": "Missing data is not zero. Pumped storage is excluded.",
      "geography": "South Africa",
      "verified_on": "2026-10-20"
    },
    {
      "id": "bess-construction-power",
      "technology": "BESS",
      "label": "BESS construction \u2014 BW1",
      "value": 513,
      "unit": "MW",
      "status": "Under construction",
      "scope": "Five BESIPPPP Bid Window 1 projects",
      "capacity_basis": "Source-reported programme power",
      "source_ids": [
        "treasury"
      ],
      "as_of": "2025-12-31",
      "note": "An end-2025 programme snapshot; project-specific subsequent changes are not inferred.",
      "geography": "South Africa",
      "verified_on": "2026-10-20"
    },
    {
      "id": "bess-construction-energy",
      "technology": "BESS",
      "label": "BESS construction energy \u2014 BW1",
      "value": null,
      "unit": "MWh",
      "status": "Under construction",
      "scope": "Same BW1 programme; energy aggregate not verified",
      "capacity_basis": "Energy",
      "source_ids": [
        "treasury"
      ],
      "as_of": "2025-12-31",
      "note": "No assumed storage duration is used to derive MWh.",
      "geography": "South Africa",
      "verified_on": "2026-10-20"
    },
    {
      "id": "bess-planned-power",
      "technology": "BESS",
      "label": "Planned BESS \u2014 BW2 + BW3",
      "value": 1231,
      "unit": "MW",
      "status": "Preferred bidders / pre-close",
      "scope": "BESIPPPP BW2 (615 MW) + BW3 (616 MW)",
      "capacity_basis": "Sum of two disjoint programme windows",
      "source_ids": [
        "treasury"
      ],
      "as_of": "2025-12-31",
      "note": "615 + 616 = 1,231 MW. Excludes BW1 construction; not a complete private-sector pipeline.",
      "geography": "South Africa",
      "verified_on": "2026-10-20"
    },
    {
      "id": "bess-planned-energy",
      "technology": "BESS",
      "label": "Planned BESS energy \u2014 BW2 + BW3",
      "value": null,
      "unit": "MWh",
      "status": "Preferred bidders / pre-close",
      "scope": "Same two programme windows; energy aggregate not verified",
      "capacity_basis": "Energy",
      "source_ids": [
        "treasury"
      ],
      "as_of": "2025-12-31",
      "note": "Not estimated from a generic four-hour assumption.",
      "geography": "South Africa",
      "verified_on": "2026-10-20"
    }
  ],
  "projects": [
    {
      "id": "kenhardt",
      "name": "Kenhardt",
      "aliases": [],
      "phase": "Combined project; do not separately add component phases",
      "technology": "PV + BESS",
      "province": "Northern Cape",
      "location": "Kenhardt",
      "coordinates": null,
      "owner": "Scatec-led project",
      "pv_mw": 540,
      "pv_basis": "Owner-reported MW; AC/DC boundary not specified in the cited passage",
      "bess_mw": 225,
      "bess_mwh": 1140,
      "bess_basis": "Owner-reported ratings; usable/gross AC/DC boundary not established",
      "status": "Operating",
      "status_as_of": "Owner portfolio checked 2026-10-20",
      "expected_cod": null,
      "source_ids": [
        "scatec"
      ],
      "evidence_note": "Three-plant hybrid grouping recorded once. Not a GES delivery reference.",
      "verified_on": "2026-10-20"
    },
    {
      "id": "grootfontein",
      "name": "Grootfontein",
      "aliases": [],
      "phase": "Combined project; do not separately add component phases",
      "technology": "Solar PV",
      "province": "Western Cape",
      "location": "Western Cape solar cluster",
      "coordinates": null,
      "owner": "Scatec-led project",
      "pv_mw": 273,
      "pv_basis": "Owner-reported MW; AC/DC boundary not specified in the cited passage",
      "bess_mw": null,
      "bess_mwh": null,
      "bess_basis": null,
      "status": "Operating",
      "status_as_of": "2025-12-06",
      "expected_cod": null,
      "source_ids": [
        "grootfontein",
        "scatec"
      ],
      "evidence_note": "Owner announced commercial operation; three-plant cluster counted once.",
      "verified_on": "2026-10-20"
    },
    {
      "id": "thakadu",
      "name": "Thakadu",
      "aliases": [],
      "phase": "Combined project; do not separately add component phases",
      "technology": "Solar PV",
      "province": "Not verified",
      "location": "Province not established from the consulted announcement",
      "coordinates": null,
      "owner": "Lyra Energy",
      "pv_mw": 255,
      "pv_basis": "Owner-reported MW; AC/DC boundary not specified in the cited passage",
      "bess_mw": null,
      "bess_mwh": null,
      "bess_basis": null,
      "status": "Under construction",
      "status_as_of": "2026-03-06",
      "expected_cod": "Phase 1 target: H1 2027 (announcement, not guarantee)",
      "source_ids": [
        "thakadu",
        "scatec"
      ],
      "evidence_note": "255 MW whole-project rating. Phase-one construction confirmed; do not interpret the whole rating as already built.",
      "verified_on": "2026-10-20"
    },
    {
      "id": "mogobe",
      "name": "Mogobe / Ferrum",
      "aliases": [],
      "phase": "Combined project; do not separately add component phases",
      "technology": "BESS",
      "province": "Northern Cape",
      "location": "Near Kathu",
      "coordinates": null,
      "owner": "Scatec-led project",
      "pv_mw": null,
      "pv_basis": null,
      "bess_mw": 103,
      "bess_mwh": 412,
      "bess_basis": "Owner-reported ratings; usable/gross AC/DC boundary not established",
      "status": "Under construction",
      "status_as_of": "Owner portfolio checked 2026-10-20",
      "expected_cod": null,
      "source_ids": [
        "mogobe",
        "scatec"
      ],
      "evidence_note": "Financial-close release and current owner portfolio consulted; no COD inferred.",
      "verified_on": "2026-10-20"
    },
    {
      "id": "haru",
      "name": "Haru",
      "aliases": [],
      "phase": "Combined project; do not separately add component phases",
      "technology": "BESS",
      "province": "Free State",
      "location": "Free State",
      "coordinates": null,
      "owner": "Scatec-led project",
      "pv_mw": null,
      "pv_basis": null,
      "bess_mw": 123,
      "bess_mwh": 492,
      "bess_basis": "Owner-reported ratings; usable/gross AC/DC boundary not established",
      "status": "Preferred bidder / planned",
      "status_as_of": "Owner portfolio checked 2026-10-20",
      "expected_cod": null,
      "source_ids": [
        "haru",
        "scatec"
      ],
      "evidence_note": "Award dated 30 May 2025; still listed as backlog in consulted portfolio. A prior expected close date is not proof of close.",
      "verified_on": "2026-10-20"
    },
    {
      "id": "hex",
      "name": "Hex River",
      "aliases": [],
      "phase": "Combined project; do not separately add component phases",
      "technology": "BESS",
      "province": "Western Cape",
      "location": "Worcester",
      "coordinates": null,
      "owner": "Eskom",
      "pv_mw": null,
      "pv_basis": null,
      "bess_mw": 20,
      "bess_mwh": 100,
      "bess_basis": "Owner-reported ratings; usable/gross AC/DC boundary not established",
      "status": "Operating",
      "status_as_of": "Commissioned 2023-11; rating confirmed May 2025",
      "expected_cod": null,
      "source_ids": [
        "hex",
        "eskom2025"
      ],
      "evidence_note": "Commissioned asset example; present availability has not been independently audited.",
      "verified_on": "2026-10-20"
    },
    {
      "id": "red-sands",
      "name": "Red Sands",
      "aliases": [],
      "phase": "Combined project; do not separately add component phases",
      "technology": "BESS",
      "province": "Northern Cape",
      "location": "Approximately 100 km southeast of Upington",
      "coordinates": null,
      "owner": "Globeleq-led project",
      "pv_mw": null,
      "pv_basis": null,
      "bess_mw": 153,
      "bess_mwh": 612,
      "bess_basis": "Owner-reported ratings; usable/gross AC/DC boundary not established",
      "status": "Under construction",
      "status_as_of": "Owner project page checked 2026-10-20",
      "expected_cod": null,
      "source_ids": [
        "redsands"
      ],
      "evidence_note": "Current owner page reports Construction; no precise coordinates or COD assumed.",
      "verified_on": "2026-10-20"
    }
  ],
  "reconciliation": [
    "Do not sum national installed PV and procurement windows into one current fleet.",
    "Do not add project-register records to national totals or to procurement totals: populations overlap.",
    "BW2 and BW3 are disjoint windows; only their power ratings are summed.",
    "Do not convert owner-reported PV MW to MWac/MWp without supporting evidence.",
    "No coordinates inferred; province-level overview only.",
    "Undated owner pages are marked as checked, not as newly published."
  ]
}